About the Region

Northern Ireland is divided into six counties, namely: AntrimArmaghDownFermanaghLondonderry[n 1] and Tyrone. Six largely rural administrative counties based on these were among the eight primary local government areas of Northern Ireland from its 1921 creation until 1973.[1] The other two local government areas were the urban county boroughs of Derry[n 1] (geographically part of the County of Londonderry) and Belfast (geographically split between the counties of Antrim and Down).

In recent years PPMA’s membership within this region has grown considerably and this year we took our Talent programmes over to our Northern Ireland colleagues to host their own event which was a great success.

Local Issues Impacting the Region