The finals of the PPMA Excellence in People Management 2019 were held at the prestigious Gala Dinner at the PPMA Conference in Birmingham on the 15th May 2019. The theme was Rock the Kasbah and was attended by over 250 people, who were there to see the winners take the stage to receive their awards. Hosted by Shonette Bason-Wood from Spread the Happiness Educators, Shonette is different in style and content, from her look to her ability to lift an audience to a whole new level of thinking.

Watch our awards 2019 highlights video to get a flavour of the evening…

Below is the full list of winners, highly commended and the full shortlist of entrants…thank you all for taking the time to enter.


PPMA’s Public Sector Apprentice of the Year 2019– Sponsored by Penna

  • JOINT WINNER’S: Daniel John, South Gloucestershire Council & Kirsten Moore, Central Bedfordshire Council

PPMA’s HR Rising Star and One to Watch 2019  – Sponsored by Solace

  • WINNER HR Rising Star: Hayley Camporese, oneSource

  • WINNER One to Watch: Steven Berry, Manchester City Council  

Best Social Media Recruitment Campaign of the Year – Sponsored by Tile Hill

  • WINNER: Southwark Council and JGP    
  • North Yorkshire County Council

Best Creative Concept Recruitment Campaign – Sponsored by Hampton’s Resourcing

  • WINNER: Manchester University NHS Trust via TMP Worldwide   
  • Warwickshire County Council
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Government Project Delivery Profession and TMP Worldwide
  • MI5 – Intelligence Officer Development Programme (IDOP) via Penna
  • Penna & Wirral Council

Best Inclusion and Diversity Programme – Sponsored by Osborne Thomas

  • WINNER: Bristol City Council – Lead for Employer Consortium
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: British Transport Police
  • Local Government Staff Commission for Northern Ireland
  • MI5 – Diversity Initiative via Penna

Best Wellbeing, Engagement or Flexible Working Initiative – Sponsored by Neyber

  • WINNER: Basildon Borough Council
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Manchester City Council HR Team, Employee health & wellbeing steering group & OWOW Group
  • Thurrock Council
  • Lincolnshire County Council

Most Effective Mental Health Initiative – Sponsored by Medigold Health

  • WINNER: British Transport Police
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Financial Ombudsman Service
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Bradford Metropolitan District Council and AdviserPlus
  • Leeds City Council

Best HR/OD Change Management or Transformation Programme – Sponsored by LGA

  • WINNER: Bristol City Council
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Essex County Council
  • London Borough of Hounslow

Best Leadership or Management Development Initiative – Sponsored by Clear Review

  • WINNER: Bradford Metropolitan District Council and AdviserPlus
  • Intellectual Property Office
  • Bristol City Council
  • Swindon Borough Council

Best Cross Sector Working / Effective Partnership Initiative – Sponsored by Crown Commercial Services

  • WINNER: London Councils
  • Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea and JGP
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Swindon Borough Council

Best HR/OD Evidence – Based Improvement Project – Sponsored by Iken

  • WINNER: North Yorkshire County Council
  • Norfolk County Council

Public Service HR/OD Team of the Year 2019 – Sponsored by Matrix -SCM

  • WINNER: Somerset County Council
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: North Yorkshire County Council

Public Sector HRD of the Year 2019 – Sponsored by Public Sector Show

  • WINNER: Sarah Murphy-Brookman, Buckinghamshire County Council

President’s Award for Special Contribution – Sponsored by The MJ

  • WINNER: Lorraine Hallam, Leeds City Council


Congratulations to all of our winners and shortlisted entrants! We are immensely proud of all of the fantastic contribution made by HR and OD professionals across all of the public services. We look forward to seeing you all again next year!



Nichola Mann, Service Manager – People & OD Brentwood Borough Council and Rochford District Council and a PPMA Excellence in People Management Gold Award Winner talks about what she gets from being a member of our Association.

Current Members include: 

Antrim and Newtonabbey Borough Council

Ards and North Down Borough Council

Armagh City, Bambridge & Craigavon BC

Acivico Group

Babergh & Mid Suffolk District Councils

Basildon Borough Council

Braintree District Council

Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council

Bedford Borough Council

Belfast City Council

Birmingham City Council

Blackburn with Darwen

Blackpool Council

Bolton Council

Bracknell Forest District Council

Breckland District Council

Brentwood Borough Council

Bristol City Council

British Transport Police

Buckinghamshire Council

Bury Council

Cambridge and Peterborough Combined Authority

Castlepoint Borough Council

Causeway Coast & Glens Borough Council

Central Bedfordshire Council

Chelmsford City Council

City of Bradford

City of London Corporation

City of York Council

Colchester Borough Council

Cumberland Council

Derbyshire County Council

Derry City & Strabane District Council

Devon County Council

Doncaster Council

Dorset Council

Durham County Council

Ealing Council

East of England Local Government Association

East Sussex Council

Epping Forest District Council

Essex County Council

Fenland District Council

Fermanagh & Omagh District Council

Financial Ombudsman Service

Gedling Borough Council

Gloucestershire County Council

Government of Jersey

Great Manchester Combined Authority (including Fire and Rescue) GMCA

Harlow Council

Halton Borough Council

Hertfordshire County Council

HM Land Registry

Kent County Council

Kingston & Sutton Councils

LABC (Local Authority Building Control)

Lancashire County Council

Lee Valley Regional Park Authority

Leeds City Council

Leicester City Council

Leicestershire County Council

Lincolnshire County Council

Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council

Local Government Association (LGA)

London Borough of Barking & Dagenham

London Borough of Bromley

London Borough of Enfield

London Borough of Hackney

London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham

London Borough of Haringey

London Borough of Harrow

London Borough of Hillingdon

London Borough of Hounslow

London Borough of Islington

London Borough of Lambeth

London Borough of Lewisham

London Borough of Southwark

London Borough of Tower Hamlets

London Borough of Waltham Forest

London Councils

Maldon District Council

Manchester City Council

Mid and East Antrim District Council

Mid Ulster District Council

New Forest District Council

National Audit Office

Newry, Mourne & Down DC

Norfolk County Council

North Yorkshire Council

North West Employers

Northern Ireland Housing Executive

Northern Ireland Fire & Rescue Service

Northumberland County Council

Nottinghamshire County Council

Oldham Council


Opus People Solutions

Oxfordshire County Council

Reigate & Banstead District Council

Rochford District Council

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Salford City Council

Sandwell Council

Sheffield City Council

Shropshire Council

SOLACE Enterprises

Somerset County Council

Southend on Sea Borough Council

South Norfolk Council

St Albans City and District Council

St Helens Borough Council

Staffordshire County Council

Stevenage Borough Council

Stockport County Council

Suffolk County Council

Swindon Borough Council

Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council

Tendring District Council

The Local Government Staff Commission for Northern Ireland

Thurrock Borough Council

Together for Children, Sunderland

Trafford Council

Transport for Greater Manchester TfGM

Trueman Change

Uttlesford District Council

Walsall Council

Warwickshire County Council

Westmorland and Furness

West of England Combined Authority

West Suffolk Council

West Sussex County Council

Westminster City Council

Wigan Council

Wokingham Borough Council

Worcestershire County Council